Make your own free website on

Erikson Home Page*Summary Chart*Biography*Critiques & Controversies*References & Other Links
Stage 1*Stage 2*Stage 3*Stage 4*Stage 5*Stage 6 *Stage 7*Stage 8

Erik Erikson's 8 Stages of Psychosocial Development

Introduction to Erikson's 8 Stages

Erikson's theory consist of eight stages of development. Each stage is characterized by a different conflict that must be resolved by the individual. When the environment makes new demands on people, the conflicts arise. "The person is faced with a choice between two ways of coping with each crisis, an adaptive, or maladaptive way. Only when each crisis is resolved, which involves a change in the personality, does the person have sufficient strength to deal with the next stages of development" (Schultz and Schultz, 1987). If a person is unable to resolve a conflict at a particular stage, they will confront and struggle with it later in life.

Stage 1 -- Oral-SensoryStage 2 -- Muscular-Anal
Stage 3 -- LocomotorStage 4 -- Latency
Stage 5 -- AdolescenceStage 6 -- Young Adulthood
Stage 7 -- Middle AdulthoodStage 8 -- Maturity
Summary Chart
Back to home page